Thursday, October 31, 2013

Some of my favorite wedding pictures

Once upon a time I got a blog and never posted on it. The end.

Okay but for real though. I haven't posted in forever, so today's the day for a random blog! I just figured I'd post some of my favorite pictures from our engagements, bridals, and wedding day, so here we go! By the way, all these were taken by Brionne Graff of Photograff Design. :)

Okay, I'm obsessed with all the bike pictures Brionne took. I thought it was such a cute idea, and even though it was kind of wobbly at times, they turned out super cute!
This one is probably my favorite of all of the engagements, I just love it!
I like this one because we were holding hands like we used to in high school, super lightly and awkward!!
He had a pretty good reaction, even if all he said was, "You look good!!"
Our Bridals were all just gorgeous!

Right before our first look. Um, can I just say I was SO nervous?! I had no idea if he was going to like my dress, and all of a sudden I was freaking out!


 These crazy kids. They're insane, but I love them!!
 And of course my handsome, studly husband!
 Okay, I'm not usually a fan of super serious pictures, but I was just glad we had finally pulled one off okay!
 This one was super surreal for me, just remembering my other siblings all taking photos by this fountain on their wedding days. Funny how fast time flies!
 I was terrified of this dipping photo! I didn't want him to drop me and get my dress all dirty! But I think it turned out great!
 I just love the Las Vegas Temple.

Aaaaaaand then there's this one. It's not embarrassing till it's you!

So there you have 'em folks! It was hard to pick just a few, but I loved all our pictures and it's fun to look back on the best day of our lives!! :)

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Our Honeymoon: What I don't want to forget.

We are now in week two of our marriage! Pretty crazy stuff. Life is chuggin' along right now, Tanner is back at work and preparing to start the Police Academy soon, and I'm just searching for a job. So far it's been an adjustment, but I think we're getting more used to each other's random quirks and habits. I mean, it's only week two but I'd say we're doing pretty well!

But that's not what this post is about! I don't want to bore everyone with day-by-day details of our honeymoon, but I do want to write some of my favorite things down, just so I won't forget anything. We went on our honeymoon to Huntington Beach, and I'm so glad we did! So here we go.

  • This wasn't necessarily our honeymoon, but I don't want to forget our wedding night room. When we went up to the hotel counter to check in, the guy asked for my name and I said "Caitlin Mat--er, Edwards..." and Tanner said, "We just got married." He told us he'd give us a "small upgrade" as his wedding present to us. We walk into our room to find the most insane hotel room either of us have ever seen. Seriously, I can't even explain how crazy this place was. Marble floors, a half bathroom plus two huge full bathrooms, (one had a massive bathtub and a shower, and the other had a huge shower with a sauna built into it. I'm telling you. Crazy.) a pool table, and the biggest, most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. It was amazing. 
  • We got really into the ABC game. (You know, the one where on road trips you have to race to find letters A-Z on billboards, license plates, etc.) We played it at least twice every day, and usually more. We eventually started learning where on our route to the beach where the letter Q was. (In the words boutique and liquor is where we mostly found them.) We still play it pretty frequently, and it gets intense. I'm not usually a super competitive person, but I guess Tanner brings it out of me, haha!
  • Running into Trevor, Ben, Jon, and Mallory. Somehow we all ended up taking trips to Huntington on the same week, and on Monday, after a few hours at the beach, Tanner and I ran into them crossing the street. I didn't really know what to think, I couldn't believe it was actually happening. We took a quick picture, just because it was such a coincidence, and we were back on our way. 
  • Actually hanging out with Trevor, Ben, Jon, and Mallory. The next day, we were headed to the beach and wanted to borrow one of their boogie boards. (We had originally planned on taking it before we left for the honeymoon, but completely forgot.) So we met up with them and actually ended up hanging out for a while. I "tried" to go out and boogie board, but I got too scared. Waves breaking on me is a weird sore spot for me. I just get way too freaked out about drowning and end up sitting on the beach instead. And that's exactly what I did. Tanner skim-boarded for a while, and I did too until I ate it hard and decided I was done. (Tanner ended up spraining his wrist skim-boarding as well so I'm glad I stopped!) We packed up and said our goodbyes and went back to the hotel! It was a really fun day!
  • Our Cheesecake Factory cookie shake run. We decided to go to Cheesecake Factory one night, because Tanner had never been and it's one of my favorite places. I decided to get an oreo cookie shake, which I'd never had before, and it was seriously sooooo good. A couple nights later, we decided to make an impromptu trip to Cheesecake Factory to see if we could get a couple to go. We did, and they were deeeeelicious.
  • Getting awesome massages. A few months ago, I decided to buy a couple groupons to a massage place in Huntington Beach, knowing we'd be going for our honeymoon. I've never had a massage, and Tanner and I both tend to have back issues, so we thought it'd be a fun and relaxing thing to do. I am soooo glad I bought those groupons! Just thinking about it makes me feel relaxed. We got lavender scrubs on our backs and everything, I don't know how else to explain it, but I just felt wonderful after! We went back to our hotel afterwards and ended up taking a 3 hour nap. It was awesome!
  • The sunset on our last night. We realized after our 3 hour nap that we hadn't gone and watched a sunset on the pier like we had originally planned to that week. So I looked up the time, we threw on some warmer clothes, and raced down to the pier. We got there just in time to see a beautiful sunset. We both had a bit of a "moment", where I think it finally hit us that we were married, and it's awesome. It was the perfect ending to a perfect honeymoon. 


  • And last but not least, the worst deep sea fishing trip of all time. I saved this for last because it was probably the most memorable thing of our trip, and I have to put it into great detail. So here we go. On our first night, we walked down main street, just looking around at different stores and what not. We came across a little advertisement for deep sea fishing 50% off. I knew Tanner would want to go, so I said that we could, and he was super excited. We decided to set it up to go on Wednesday at 6am. Fast forward to the day of. We woke up at 4:30, got showered and ready, and left for Newport. When we got there, we found a sketchy parking garage and parked there. When we got to the actual fishing place, there was a huge wall of pictures of fish people had caught. There were whale sharks, and some of the biggest fish I'd ever seen. Tanner was really excited, and I was glad we were getting to do something he had wanted to do for so long. Then we get up to the counter to pay. She asked if we needed the whole package (a pole, a fishing license, that kind of stuff) and we said yes. So the 50% off and the trip being like $60 turned into the trip costing $150. We did it anyways, and she asked for photo ID from both of us. I hadn't brought mine, because I figured I wouldn't need my drivers license or any money. So she told me that without one, she couldn't make me a valid fishing license. She said that I could go without, and risk the boat getting pulled over, and if that happened, I would get an automatic $1000 fine, required court appearance, and all of my fishing stuff confiscated, that I would then have to pay the fishing place for. I immediately had a sick feeling about it so I just decided to go without one. This brought our trip to be about $110, which was still okay. So we finally ventured off into the great deep. I fell asleep on the way there, and when we finally got there, I realized two hours had passed. Two of the 7 hours of this trip were spent driving out there, and there would be 2 hours back. When I realized there would only be 3 hours of actually fishing and 4 hours of just driving, I was pretty irritated. Nonetheless, all 15-20 of us finally got out there and dropped our lines. We waited ten minutes or so and the driver told us that he was going to re-park and try to  get us a better shot at the fish below us. So we re-parked, 3 times. I was sick of standing out in the freezing cold and seeing absolutely no one catch anything, so I went back inside the boat and fell asleep again. I woke up occasionally to see that we were again moving to a new spot, and grew more and more irritated with the situation, and so did Tanner. I woke up again and poked my head through the window to see that Tanner was reeling in a couple fish. I went out to see and he told me that the most anyone had caught was 12 inches, and that they were all the same two fish over and over. He only ended up catching 7 flounder. When it was finally time to leave, we both fell asleep for the 2 hour ride back. With all the re-parking and relocating, we really got about 2 hours of fishing. It was the worst part of our trip, by far. When we were on our way back I asked and hoped he had still had a little fun, but he hadn't, which bummed me out. That place was super lame and we decided if we're going to go deep sea fishing again, we're going to go on one of those private boats with just you and the driver, and pay a decent amount of money for it. Ah. 
All in all, we  had an awesome time and I wouldn't have wanted to spend it anywhere else!





Sunday, August 11, 2013

Late night thoughts on my soon-to-be husband

Well, it is 2:27 am. It's officially Sunday. Which means Tanner and I are getting married this week. Any holy cow, what a journey it has been for us! I just got home from my Bachelorette party and cannot sleep, so I figured I'd write a quick post about why I love that crazy kid so much.


  • He makes me laugh. He's a complete goofball, and if I'm ever stressed out or just having a bad day, he'll usually be able to make it better just with his sense of humor.
  • He has the number 1 quality I've always looked for. You know those lists you always made in Young Women's about what your future husband should be like? On every one of mine was "Knows when to be fun and when to be serious." And Tanner has a very good balance of that. He knows when to just make me laugh and when he needs to actually listen and talk to me.
  • He can get along with just about anybody. I'm suuuuper shy the majority of the time. He can always make me feel comfortable around new people because he's just good with people in general. I never have to feel awkward with anyone around him.
  • He tells really good stories. 
  • He doesn't beat around the bush. I can always count on him to be truthful when I ask him for his opinion.
  • He likes some girly things. He'll go shopping with me and is willing to help me decorate the apartment because he enjoys doing stuff like that with me.
  • He doesn't know his own strength (or possibly my own wimpiness.) I complain about this trait of his a lot. It seems to happen all too often that he is accidentally hurting me. Tickling turns into him smashing my head into a ceiling fan (I still have a dent on my forehead) and cuddling quickly turns into feeling like my lungs are going to collapse any minute. Granted, I have a low threshold for pain, but it still makes me laugh how often I'm telling him he has to be careful because "I'm fragile."
  • He loves my nieces and nephews like I love them. (And they love him too!) I know he'll be a wonderful dad.
  • He spoils the crap out of me. House decorations, nice dinners, movies, shopping trips, couches, you name it. If we can manage things into our budget, he is always willing to treat me like a princess.
There are so many more reasons, but luckily this has helped me start to wind down and get tired! I sure do love that man! As of 2:44 am, there are 6 days, 9 hours, and 14 minutes until I become Mrs. Edwards.